(A antiga Hollywood & Audrey Hepburn, Mito ou mais um Ícone Pop?) 












Those who know me know I’m a fan of musicals and old movies, sometimes I prefer these to the modern ones.Some people call me old, I don’t care, I just think we have to experience the best that each epoch has to offer.


I’ll tell you a story: by the age of 10 I saw “singing in the rain” for the first time (yes, I fell in love with Gene Kelly) I was delighted and did not take long for me to know by heart all the songs (after I had already done this tirelessly, with almost every Disney movies). 
Then I asked my mother to introduced me more of that world (which was far up her). I got to know better the  famous Charlie Chaplin and Marilyn Monroe, and form new bonds with other “dream makers”, Judy Garland, Ginger Rogers Ingrid Bergman, James Dean. Gene Kelly, Fred Astaire, Greta Garbo, Marlon Brando, Rita Hayworth, Shirley Temple, Humphrey Bogart, Grace Kelly, Julie Andrews, Clark Gable, Katharine and Audrey Hepburn. (And many others, I’ve certainly forgot someone)


 I still wondered why some films were in black and white and why others  in an abated Technicolor, it took me a while to figure out why. I did not see such grace in those opaque tones in the tube tv, I still preferred, the unknown black and white, but that did not stop me from perceiving magic in “The Wizard of Oz” and “Cleopatra.”



Quem me conheçe sabe, sou fã de musicais e filmes antigos, por vezes prefiro estes aos atuais. Há quem me chame de velha, não ligo, só acho que temos que aproveitar o melhor que cada época nos tem a oferecer.

Vou te contar uma história:
Aos 10 anos vi “cantando na chuva” pela primeira vez ( sim, me apaixonei pelo gene kelly)  fiquei extasiada e não demorou muito para que eu gravasse todas as músicas ( afinal eu já tinha feito isso, incansávelmente, com quase todos os  filmes da Disney). Em seguida pedi para minha mãe que me introduzisse mais àquele mundo ( que era distante até dela ) .
Passei a conhecer melhor os tão famosos Charles Chaplin e Marylin Monroe, e formar novos vínculos com outros “fazedores de sonhos”, Judy Garland, Ginger RogersIngrid Bergman, James Dean.  Gene Kelly, Fred Astaire, Greta Garbo, Marlon Brando,  Rita Hayworth, Shirley Temple, Humphrey Bogart, Grace Kelly, Julie Andrews,  Clark GableKatharine E AUDREY Hepburn. ( e muitos outros, certamente esqueci alguém ) 
Ainda me perguntava porque alguns filmes eram em preto e branco e porque outros num esmarecido Technicolor, demorei um pouco para descobrir a razão. Não via tanta graça naqueles tons opacos na tv de tubo, preferia ainda sim, a incógnita do preto e branco, mas  aquilo não me impediu de enxergar magia em “O Mágico de Oz” e “Cleópatra”.








Unlike many others, my first movie of Audrey Hepburn was “Funny Face”. Meaningful isn’t it?! The story of a very  intelligent  bookstore employee that  turns  a model from day to the next. With the presence of the always illustrious Fred Astaire as a romantic photographer . My excursion in Audrey’s career could not be more perculiar, and why not say, special?

Givenchy costumes (which were present in several other films of the actress) crown the scenes of Paris and New York. And the city of  lights  is where  Hepburn wears one of the outfits that immortalized her (she would continue to use them for the rest of her life) capri pants, long sleeved shirt and flats, all in black.
 ps: for those who enjoy  musicals , the soundtrack is also excellent.

I was charmed by the coquettish, naive and classy actress, her face showed the sweetness and strength  at the same time.
I was about to turn 12 when I saw “Funny Face” (interestingly, done after her major successes ) and my delight was such that I asked for a collection with films of Audrey Hepburn that was composed by  “Sabrina,” ” Breakfast at Tiffany’s “and” Roman Holiday “.

I began with “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” of course, a classic and highly recommended for those who like 60’s. From the beginning , since its  first scene, the film i a dream, a girl, a tiara, a croissant, a yellow cab, jewelry and Manhattan at her feet. The female independence that confronts the loves that are still needed to live fully.
Memorable scenes of this film inhabit the imagination of many. If you like me have seen the movie (incessantly) should at least remember the scene in which Holly Golightly (Audrey) kiss Paul (George Peppard) , both wearing trench-coats under the rain or the one that Holly sings “Moon River” on her porch.

huckleberry friends

Then came “Sabrina,” ” Roman Holiday” (Audrey film for which she won an Oscar – though not her best performance in my opinion), the classic “War and Peace” by Tolstoy and “My Fair Lady.”

After seeing her films I searched for her life on the internet, and I was surprised with the great human being  who lived inside the actress. 
So I continued keeping  my admiration for Audrey, but I was growing up, learning new things, enlarging my world view and seeking to learn more about cinema and its history.


Years after my experience I discovered that many other women , of my age or older, suddenly became interested by the actress. But why? Because someone on TV was told that it was interesting to admire her? Because she was a symbol of the vintage culture? Because she had  a pretty face? Indeed she had, but do they know that Audrey had been a star of such magnitude also on stage?


My charm by Audrey is due to her artistic talent (after all she is one of the few people who won Oscar, Emmy, Grammy and Tony Awards , not to speak the BAFTA, Golden Globe and SAG Awards), but also for her struggle for survival during the Nazi control in Holland (the English girl, Audrey, often had to eat tulip leaves to survive, she saw many of her relatives being killed in front of her. Participated of  illegal ballet performances to raise funds and carried secret messages inside her ballet slippers)  and for her work as a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador in her last years of life.
Myth or pop icon?


To me, Audrey is both. No, I don’t consider her the best artist of the twentieth century (I believe she would also find it too pretentious), we can not equate her to Chaplin and Fred Astaire, for example,
 but in fact she is a Venus, which shines stronger in a sky full of small constellations.



Ao contrário de muitas outras pessoas, meu primeiro filme da Audrey Hepburn foi “Funny Face” ( em portugês “Cinderela em Paris”). Significativo não?! A história de uma inteligentíssima funcionária de uma livraria que vira  modelo da noite para o dia  . Com a presença do sempre ilustre Fred Astaire, como um fotógrafo apaixonado.Minha excurssão na carreira da Audrey não poderia ser mais perculiar, e porque não dizer, especial?Figurinos Givenchy ( que estariam presente em vários outros filmes da atriz) coroam os cenários de Paris e Nova York. E é na cidade luz que Hepburn veste um dos  looks que a imortalizaram ( e que iria continuar a usar pelo resto da vida)  calça capri, camisa de manga comprida e mocassin, todos em preto.obs: para quem gosta de musicais a trilha sonora do filme também é excelente.De cara me encantei pelo modo faceiro, ingênuo e classudo da atriz, pelo rosto que demonstrava doçura e ao mesmo tempo firmeza.Eu estava prestes a completar 12 anos quando vi “Funny Face” ( curiosamente feito depois de seus maiores sucessos ) e meu encanto foi tamanho que pedi para que me presenteassem com uma coletania de filmes da Audrey Hepburn que era composto de  “Sabrina” , “Bonequinha de Luxo” e ” A Princesa e o Plebeu”.Começei por “Bonequinha de Luxo”, claro, um clássico, e muito recomendado para quem gosta dos anos de 1960. 
 Já de início, desde sua primeira cena, o filme é um sonho, uma garota, uma tiara, um croissant, um yellow cab, jóias e Manhattan a seus pés. A independência feminina que confronta os amores,ainda necessários para que a vida siga a diante.Memoráveis, as cenas deste filme habitam o imaginário de muitos. Se você assim como eu já viu o filme (incessantemente)  deve lembrar-se pelo menos da cena em que Holly Golightly  ( Audrey ) e  Paul (George Peppard) se beijam de trench-coat na chuva ou da que Holly canta “Moon river” em sua varanda.Depois vieram “Sabrina” , “A Princesa e o Plebeu” ( filme por qual Audrey ganhou um Oscar – apesar de não ser sua melhor atuação na minha opinião ), o clássico “Guerra e Paz” de Tolstoy e “May Fair Lady”. 


Depois de ver seus filmes fui conhecer um pouco de sua vida na internet, e me surpreendi com a grandioso ser humano que habitava dentro da atriz. 
Assim, continuei cultivando minha admiração pela Audrey, mas fui crescendo, conhecendo coisas novas, amadurecendo minha visão de mundo e buscando aprender mais sobre o cinema e sua história.Anos após dessa minha experiência descobri que repentinamente muitas outras mulheres, da minha idade, ou mais velhas, passaram a se interessar subitamente pela atriz. 

Mas por quê? Porque alguém na tv havia lhes dito que era interessante admirá-la? Porque é um símbolo da cultura vintage? Porque era um rosto bonito? De fato era, mas será que elas sabiam que Audrey havia sido uma estrela de tamanha grandeza também nos palcos? Meu encanto por ela se deve ao seu potencial artístico ( afinal ela é uma das poucas pessoas que ganhou Oscar , Emmy, Grammy, e Tony Awards por se- fora os Bafta, Golden Globe e SAG Awards) , mas também  por sua luta pela sobrevivência durante o controle nazista na Holanda (  a inglesa Audrey teve muitas vezes de comer folhas de tulipa para sobreviver, viu muitos de seus parentes serem mortos na sua frente.Participou de espetáculos clandestinos de balé para angariar fundos e levava mensagens secretas em suas sapatilhas ) e por seu trabalho como Embaixatriz da UNICEF nos últimos anos de vida.


Mito ou ícone pop?Pra mim , Audrey é ambas as coisas. Não, ainda não a considero a melhor artista do século XX ( acredito que ela também acharia isso muito pretensioso), não há como equipará-la a Chaplin ou Fred Astaire , por exemplo, mas de fato é uma Vênus, que reluz mais forte num céu repleto de pequenas constelações.

Leave a Reply

